Colorado Shredding

That title makes it seem like I am super great at skiing, right? Because that is my goal, although I am not. At all. Even though I work for a skiing and snowboarding kids camp every weekend in January and February, I still basically stick to the greens and blues. I’m not going to lie, I was super nervous for this trip because of my fear for going fast and falling, but I am proud to say I did pretty awesome. But I will get to that. I had a great first real vacation with Dave’s family!

The trip started with a night in Denver and spending time with Dave’s aunt, uncle and cousins that live in the area. It was a nice welcome to a new state (for me) and a good way to get acclimated with the lack of oxygen. Hello mile high city! The next day we headed to Breckinridge, but stopped by Garden of the Gods on the way. I’ve never really been in the mountains, and this was gorgeous! The Red Rocks against the snow covered mountains in the background was truly breath taking (or maybe that was the lack of oxygen again??). After stopping for some hiking we were on our way again.

We made a quick stop in Idaho a Springs for buffalo burgers and to stretch our legs. The burgers were delicious, and the town looked to be straight out of the Wild West. It was a really nice drive into ski country through Keystone and the Eisenhower bridge that goes straight through a mountain. I felt like a little kid in a candy store once I got my first look at the town of Breckinridge, the gondolas, and the huge mountains. I was still nervous, but so ready to really start this vacation.

We stayed at the Grand Timber Lodge, which had multiple pools, hot tubs, bars (can you say happy hour?!), and a wonderful view of the mountain. Also, am I the only person that get excited about hotels that supply robes?! The great part about this was the proximity to the Peak 8 chair lift, which we took advantage of everyday. Our first night was pretty laid back since we had to do some grocery shopping and pick up our snow gear. We used some time to rest up, drink lots of water, and prepare for our first day of skiing.

Monday was my first time on a mountain larger than one at Ski Roundtop, so I thought I was in for a surprise when it came to difficulty.  After my first few runs I was getting more comfortable, but not any faster. We stayed on the slopes almost all day, and then headed out for our first night in town. It was St. Patricks Day, so decked out in green we headed to our first bar. Thankfully everywhere we turned was green beer, and corned beef and cabbage. We had a great time bar hopping and walking around the shops, meanwhile the whole time I was mentally preparing myself for the next day.

Tuesday brought lots of snow and wind so we decided to hang out for the day instead of hitting the slopes. We had a nice breakfast and chilled until the afternoon when we decided to go back to the town while it was empty. The slopes all close at 4pm and just about everyone heads to Main Street for food, drinks and shopping. Everywhere was pretty empty so we were able to get some townie recommended pizza, fresh mini donuts and some great end of season sales. I also love cute little towns, and Breckenridge is definitely one of them. It was still decorated in Christmas lights, which gave it a glow at night in the snow. Once we left the town we ended our night with the hot tub and drinks.

Fresh powder is the perfect way to describe Wednesday. I never really had an experience of this before, so this was probably my favorite day if the trip. I had so much confidence, I even tried a black diamond! I was finally able to (somewhat) keep up with Dave and it felt great. It was so nice not having to worry about other tracks and dips in the mountain, I could just go wherever. We left the slopes a little early to freshen up before the 4 o’clock rush, and stop by happy hour in our hotel.

Thursday and Friday were about the same slopes wise, I didn’t feel as confident and fell a few times but I still feel like I made some progress. The best part of the whole trip was somehow bringing myself to ski a bowl. Those mountains are tall, and I was terrified, but I did it. It took me a bit to get through the bowl, but the runs afterwards were smooth and quick sailing. I am so happy I did it, and I can’t wait until ski season to do it again! Friday was also my favorite dining experience, we went to Steak and Rib for happy hour, and it was awesome! The appetizers and drinks were delicious, and I wish we had went everyday, I will for sure be back next time. I will also be craving ribs and shrimp like theirs for a long time.

Saturday we headed back to the Denver area to spend a little more time with Dave’s family and end our vacation with a relaxing evening. We had dinner at a hibachi grill (my favorite!) and played some board games to calm us down from the adrenaline rush from the past few days.

Sunday was our flight home and one last day of Colorado shopping. I had such a wonderful time, and can’t wait for my next adventure with the Volpes!

ImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

2 thoughts on “Colorado Shredding

Leave a Reply

