Changing The Way America Thinks

I recently read this article on the Huffington Post about a women being made fun of in Self magazine. The women wore a tutu during a marathon she was running and Self considered this to be a “lame” trend. Come to find out, the women pictured was running this race halfway through chemotherapy treatments. She also has a company that sells these same tutus and donates the money to empower young girls. The magazines editor-in-chief did release an apology for releasing this picture, not knowing the person pictured was fighting cancer.

This only further proves that we all need to be nicer to each other. I know I don’t always choose the high road, and I am often quick to judge or act before I think, but it is something I am working on. You never know someones story, unless you ask them. It isn’t fair to judge somebody by their goofy outfit, or the way they do their hair, or anything of the sort. I am going to personally make more of an effort to be a better person, and I hope others will too.

Image

 

3 thoughts on “Changing The Way America Thinks

Leave a Reply

