Calling All Expats!

Many of you have read that my best friend lives in Paris. Well obviously our friendship  didn’t start with her living thousands of miles away. Allison started as an intern for the company I work for and we instantly clicked. We have so much in common and have so much fun together that we became friends right away. I turned 21 right after she started working with me, which allowed me to have many of my first legal nights out with her, and we had a blast. I can get into my first year of being 21 later though.

So Allison has a love story straight out of a movie. She met her husband (then boyfriend) while she was living in France for the summer. They continued to hang out while she was studying abroad, and started their long distance relationship once she was making her way back to the states. Her husband decided to come to America for the summer two years ago and then continued to New York to earn his degree. They would take turns traveling to each other on the weekends, between New York and Baltimore, it was a lot of moving around. I went with her to New York for a weekend and we had a blast!

The constant traveling to each other and distance was getting old, as it would with anyone, and they made a big decision. The two decided to get married and Allison would move to Paris (cue my tears). This was January of 2013, and Dave and I were lucky enough to visit them last July. I am beyond excited for the two of them to come back to Baltimore for a few weeks this summer!

So the point of this random post is that I am trying to talk Allison into joining the blogging world. But I would like some help first. I know there are some current and past Expats out there, so please send your recommendations of who to follow my way!

Allyally 2

 

4 thoughts on “Calling All Expats!

  1. Found your blog through the A-Z challenge. I am a Australian ex-pat who lives in Virginia now. I agree that your mate in Paris should blog about her life in France as people find it fascinating. I blog about how Australia and America is different about once a week and they tend to be some of the more popular posts on our blogs. Its often the simple things that she would notice is different that makes for interesting blogging. I hope she starts blogging as I would probably be one of her first followers as I would love to hear how life is different in Europe.

    Sean at His and Her Hobbies

    • I have read a few of your posts! I agree, others would love to see the differences and similarities through someone else’s eyes. I’m slowly getting her into it, I hope 😉

  2. Her love story sounds very similar to mine. For me the expat blogging community has been wonderful for support, tips on surviving expat life, and just building friendships. I started my blog when I moved to Iceland and it has been an awesome experience. I hope your friend Allison takes the plunge!

Leave a Reply

