Taking Chances

lock

 

As you can see I am about 5 days behind on the A to Z Challenge. To be honest, I didn’t even think I would make it that far without missing several days. But It happened, and here I am to catch up! For the letter T I am going to talk about taking chances. Taking a chance is something I find very important in life. Along with taking those chances, you also have to accept them. It took me a little while to grasp the concept, but at times you just have to dive in.

The first time I had to make a big decision was when I was 20 and going on my 4th year of working at IKEA. I loved the people I worked with, but I didn’t enjoy retail anymore and was ready for a new adventure. I started searching for a new job but didn’t really see anything that interested me. I knew I wouldn’t find anything perfect, but I at least wanted to enjoy my new job for a little while. Then one day, my boss from my first job called me and mentioned a new company he was working for. I was really good friends with my first boss, but when he told me he was working for a startup, I got a bit leery. Working for a brand new company, is scary you never know what will happen. But I went to the interview, liked the environment, and got the job a few days later.

I was nervous about the chance I took to work in a garage with a small amount of people, but here I am 2 1/2 years later at the same company. It’s been fun to watch it grow, and I have learned so much!

Another time I had to make a choice and take a chance was when I met Dave. I was attracted to him since the day I met him, I just knew I couldn’t do anything since we worked together. We became great friends, and I truly thought that was all we would ever be. Although, I went back and forth over and over again about if I wanted to talk to him about it. All of my friends knew, and I eventually found out he also did. Dang, guess I’m not good at hiding things. Then one night we were out with several of our friends, and I wanted to dance. The bar was playing some great throwbacks, and who can pass up a chance to dance to “I Wanna Dance With Somebody”. Everyone else was a little past gone to dance with me, so Dave stepped in. We were laughing and dancing and all of a sudden he asked me a question I never expected to hear, “what would you do if I kissed you?”.

In about 3 seconds a million things flashed through my head. Of course I wanted to say yes, but I was caught off guard and couldn’t even see straight. Then he did it, and fireworks isn’t the word. It was perfect. We turned around and all of our friends started clapping. It was one of the absolute best nights of my life, but it led to taking a huge chance and seeing where things went. Look where we are now, best chance I ever took!

I could go on and on about taking more chances, but I will let you get to taking some of your own!

A to Z

 

Signature

 

4 thoughts on “Taking Chances

Leave a Reply

