3 Signs You Are An Adult

Image

During my sisters birthday party, I got into a conversation with some people about being an adult, and how “grown up” I am. I don’t really think there is a certain age that signifies becoming an adult. Some people say 18, 21, 25, etc. but I feel like it’s more of a state of mind and what you are doing in life. I’m 23 and sometimes don’t totally feel like an adult, but that doesn’t make me not one, there are plenty of reasons that I am “all grown up”. When I see my parents friends that I haven’t been around in a while, most of them see me and say “wow you’re an adult now!” well….yes, I am but not because I’m tall or 23. In my opinion there are 3 main things that signify my adulthood. Sure, there are several other things that will classify, but personally in my life these are the top 3 I think of.

First of all, being able to hold a conversation. In real life, not just over texting and emailing. I can’t stand talking on the phone, saying goodbye is always awkward for some reason, but I have to make multiple phone calls a day and I need to be smooth about it. Most of my business calls are quick and to the point, however some clients like to chit chat and I have to be able to reply to them in some way. Luckily, I am a talker and very outspoken so this isn’t too difficult for me, but other people just can’t do it without going crazy. I can’t stand calling somebody, asking a question and hearing ummmm, huh, well, or I dunno, get it together! The same goes for public speaking, or social events. Being able to make small talk is a big deal in most adult lives.

Another big one is being able to make and keep friends as you get older. I am in contact with several people I went to High School with, but I’m only close with a few of them. This makes sense, you graduate, get real jobs, move around for college and careers and loose touch but then you still need friends. It can be really difficult to make friends as you get older, I have really found this out the past few years, but it is also hard to maintain a relationship to keep them around. Three of my closest friends do not live near me, so we don’t get to see each other often, but we text, call and email practically daily. I met one of them through work, and the other two through Dave’s friends. I am so thankful for their friendships and it’s great to know even if we are further away than I would like, we have a lasting relationship. I am also blessed to be so close with my mom.

The third classification according to me is having a good job, or being productive with your time and money. Personally, I am on the job side of this one. I have a Monday-Friday 9ish-5ish job and weekends off (unless I am on travel), and I am happy to be away from the retail side of things. Retail is a great career for many people, but not when you are only on the lower level sales team like I was for 4 years. Having a good job leads to paying bills, buying and fixing up a house, owning a car, all of that good stuff. It’s basically being responsible with your time and money. This can also be accomplished by the awesome people that can make their blog life, Etsy store, traveling life into a career. More power to you, and I wish that was me, but for now I will just stick with the full time job.

Oh another one not included in these three is going to happy hour with the girls, and brunch with a group of couples. Those definitely make you an adult.

Signature

 

4 thoughts on “3 Signs You Are An Adult

  1. I totally agree! I always think one sign of being an adult is when you begin to understand that all people are different and that is OK – and you stop judging people or stop liking or disliking someone based on materialistic things. But, then again, some people never really grow out of that, so I guess it wouldn’t count for everyone hah! Def the being productive with money etc. That’s a sign for sure!

Leave a Reply

