Fill My Bookshelf!

TFIOSNow that I am finished reading The Fault in our Stars, I need some more books to read for the next month while I am traveling for work. So please send any recommendations my way! Here is my quick review of TFIOS without giving anything away.

I was so excited, yet scared to begin this book. After watching my uncle fight cancer for 2 years, I knew this would be an emotional read but sometimes it’s good to get all of those feelings out. Even though this book is largely a love story, it was perfect for this time of my life in regards to the grieving stage. As I read I knew almost all of the medical terms and it brought things to life that I had forgotten about.

Throughout this entire book I was reminded of many sad memories, but also really happy ones along with them. The way the characters were developed and their lives were described was amazing. I felt as if I knew Hazel and Augustus. The battles their family faced, I faced as well and it was totally relatable. I love being captivated by a book so much that it makes me sad to put it down.

With a disease such as Cancer, you never know what will happen next. It’s a long roller coaster ride and things are constantly changing for better, and for worse. I had no idea what would happen in the next chapter, or even the next page. I was pulling for these characters like I never have in a book before. I highly recommend this to anyone whether they have been involved with this battle before or not. It really gives you a different perspective on things, while hinting at angst during typical teenage years, and then of course there is romance. The ending, while I had no idea what it would be throughout the book, was perfect.

 

Have you read The Fault in our Stars? What book should I read next?

Signature

12 thoughts on “Fill My Bookshelf!

  1. I haven’t read it yet, but it’s on my to read list. I really loved Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell – if you haven’t read that, I definitely recommend it. Also, if you like thrillers, try Chain of Command by Colby Marshall.

  2. This book was definitely interesting! I expected it to be really sad but I laughed so much and the ending was far from being what I expected. I can’t even imagine reading having the experience you have of knowing someone with cancer, must resonate even more!
    I’ve just started reading The Magicians by Lev Grossman and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, both very interesting! 🙂

  3. Books to read– that’s a great question! One of my favorites is The Enchanted Castle by E. Nesbit. Yes it’s a childrens book but its super cute!

    ~Katrina
    trinasadventuresandsuch.blogspot.com

  4. This is the next book on my “must read” list, so i’m glad to hear a good review of it! I just finished Girls in White Dresses and LOVED it! It was a very quick and easy read. I really liked it because I could relate so well with all the characters. I would highly suggest it, especially for reading during travel!

Leave a Reply

