I Thought The Customer Was Always Right?

I have went back on fourth about posting this or not posting this, and I decided I have this blog for numerous reasons, one of them being to vent, so here I am typing this ranting post. About 2 months ago I start purchasing dresses and jewelry from Monday Dress, a cute online boutique with dresses that really fit my style. Although, they are a bit expensive (hello, Marshalls) I like the quality of the products and the clothes are adorable.

I picked out a dress for my engagement party, and was looking for something else to meet the $50 mark for free shipping, when I received an email with an adorable shift dress for only $29.99. I knew right away that I wanted this dress since it was such a good price, but then I quickly changed my mind. I clicked the image within the email, was directed to the Monday Dress page, and noticed the dress was listed for $44.99. I figured this was an error since an email had just been sent out with it listed for $29.99, so I contacted their customer service. I’m not sure exactly what I was expecting, but it wasn’t the response I received.

A few hours later I was told that the price for the dress is $44.99, and they are sorry I was confused…whatttt?! I am the one that is confused? No, I read the email, clearly with the $29.99 price tag, and then was directed to a website with a higher price. I believe the internal team is who is confused. After working in retail for 4 years, I realized that it isn’t always the case that the customer is always right, but I do know if something is clearly marked wrong and the item number or picture match, then the customer is actually, always right.

Monday Dress has totally lost my business, I even unfollowed them on Instagram. Customer Service is really something online businesses should be great with, in the end it is the only way they can communicate with their customers directly. I’m sure my bad experience won’t really be much of a loss for them, but for me, I won’t be saying anything positive about them in the future or purchasing anything else.

Just to prove I’m not crazy, here are the screenshots from my email ($29.99) and the website ($44.99)

.Screen Shot 2014-07-22 at 11.20.27 AM

Screen Shot 2014-07-22 at 11.20.47 AMSignature

 

10 thoughts on “I Thought The Customer Was Always Right?

  1. that’s insane! this happened to me with Nordstrom a few weeks ago. I was all set to buy a pair of $100 flats that were marked own to $45. I was so stoked, as I’d been wanting the flats for like EVER. Then, as soon as I got out my debit card and was set to check out, the site redirected me to the homepage and had emptied my cart. I emailed customer service and they told me the item had never existed in their system. Um WHAT?!

  2. Aw 😦 I hate bad customer service. I worked at a Fleet Feet, and we took our customer service SO seriously. Now when I get bad service, it makes me so angry I could SPIT.

  3. Pingback: A Bad Review: Marley Lilly |

Leave a Reply

