Back to High School

So we are taking it back to High School, are we? High school ended for me 5 years ago in 2009. I can’t believe it was that long ago already. I will take it back a little further to 8th grade, my first year going to public school, or school in general since I was in Kindergarten. I was Homeschooled for 7 years and then decided along with my mom that I would attend public school for the last year of Middle School and apply for a magnet High School, if I wasn’t accepted, I would be Home Schooled again to avoid going to my “home” high school…I am from Baltimore and she didn’t want me involved in those shenanigans. I went to 8th grade just to get used to a public school, and I did just fine.

I was accepted to Eastern Technical High School for their Culinary major and it was the best 4 years of my life. I was the not-so-nerdy girl that loved school, but hardly ever received an A. I didn’t really have pressure from my parents it get the best grades, all they want was for me to do my best, so I was happy with straight B’s. I was always excited for the first day of school, I never hated homework, and I loved speaking in front of the class. It also helped that I really loved my school.

My Freshman year I decided that the Senior Superlative I wanted to win was most spirited…and I did! Spirit week was my absolute favorite time of the year and I was happy to be crazy in order to achieve my goal. I also made sure to attend as many football games as possible, and every single game during my senior year home and away. I did that, also. I was the first one out of my friends to drive so we would pile in my jeep and head off to wherever our team was playing that night. It also helped that our team was awesome and went to the State Championship three years in a row.

I also won Homecoming queen my senior year, I wasn’t exactly BFFs with my everyone in my class but I was friends with a lot of the younger classes, so that helped me win. I never even planned on running until one of my friends in SGA submitted my photo and some random quote, winning was pretty cool though.

I think about my days at Eastern all the time, I made so many friends, loved most of my teachers, some I even want to invite to our wedding, and it was just a great experience. One of the only things that makes me sad about our plan to move to Texas or South Carolina is that my children won’t be able to attend my school. Those were a wonderful 4 years. I wish I had more photo’s but that would mean I had to get into MySpace haha

It was also awesome that my graduation present was going to California for 10 days with my mom!

HS 32009HS 2HSHS 4

 

 

Believe in the Sparks

Leave a Reply

