Wedding Wednesday {Nothing New}

I was actually not looking forward to this Wedding Wednesday like I had been for the others. I haven’t been able to check anything off of my list in the past week, and it doesn’t look like I will for a few more weeks. I am slowly sinking into a puddle of tears when it comes to our venue. I hate that I had every detail planned out surround by this venue, and we are having so many problems with it. I need more options.

I have been looking for other venues, but none of them give me butterflies or get me as excited as my dream venue. It is also in such a perfect location that I don’t think I will find another one as close to nightlife, hotels, the Chesapeake Bay, and not totally break the bank. I am slowly melting, but I have been doing a few things to get me somewhat closer to some of my wedding goals. I am also trying to teach myself calligraphy. Is anyone has any helpful hints, I would love to hear them! IMG_0161.JPG

The only thing I can say is planning weddings for other people is so much easier.

Since I can only do so much, here are some of the things I do, remind myself of, or read daily to keep my stress a little lower.

  • Exercise, this is a top priority. It helps me to release stress and focus more on what I need to do in all aspects of my life
  • I try to remember that it could be worse. In the end it won’t matter about the centerpieces, who doesn’t attend, or even the venue but that I get to marry my best friend and spend the rest of our lives together
  • Bubble baths. This is such a simple pleasure and I have been taking full advantage of them lately
  • Being around friends that won’t ask a million questions. While I love that my friends are so supportive and willing to help, there really hasn’t been anything that I need help with lately. Having friends that understand that has been such a huge help
  • Praying, every night I say my prayers and give my worries to God about the wedding. It will all work out in the end
  • Living by this- “stressed is desserts spelled backwards”…so after I exercise I have some wine, that is dessert, right?

What helped you stay stress free and happy while planning?

 

Wedding Wednesday

 

14 thoughts on “Wedding Wednesday {Nothing New}

  1. You are working hard and it will all pay off. We didn’t have our venue picked until March of this year which is only 7 months from our wedding date! A lot of our planning has had to wait until later because of the venue as well. I completely understand your stress, keep it up with doing things that de-stress you and keep on with the prayers. Exactly what you said is so true that at the end you get to marry your best friend and that’s all that will matter!! By the way, I have no idea how you made your “M” look that great, I tried changing my writing and could not do it!!

  2. I hope your troubles with the venue work out. What has happened with them? The only big issue we had with our venue was that a month before our wedding, our coordinator up there had a medical emergency and was put on bedrest for over a month. So, you can only imagine how fun that was. We had someone there to oversee everything, but it wasn’t the same. It worked out, but I know it would have been better.

    It will get better, I promise!

    • The venue lost their permit due to zoning issues, and now are trying to get it back in order before we can be contracted.

      Oh no! I am so sorry that happened, your wedding seems to have turned out so perfect though!

  3. I’m sorry to hear that you are having so much trouble with your venue. I just selected my venue and it feels like such a relief, after seeing a bunch I can’t imagine having to go to any of the other choices. I hope that whatever is going on gets better and you are able to stick with your dream venue! Keep up the good work and de-stress things!

    • Thank you!! That is great you found yours, it is so hard to choose! I have been to almost all of them in my area since I have worked in the business for several years, so I knew when I found the one that it was perfect. Of course there are problems though, it can’t be easy šŸ˜‰

  4. I’m so sorry you’re having so much trouble with the venue! I know that everything will work out and fall into place for you. You have a great attitude about everything though! The most important part is that at the end of your wedding day you will be married, and that is the best part! I can’t give any advice because we did a destination wedding and Disney did everything for me. Very little stress and worry for me, which I loved. But, wine and nights out with the girls were great so I could get away from all the wedding preparations for a few hours. I highly suggest that!

  5. What a bummer about your venue. So sorry you have to deal with that. I think you have a great mindset, and are doing all great things to beat the stress.

    I learned calligraphy for my wedding, too! I took “lessons” on skillshare. Only $20 for the class, full of videos and how-tos. The instructor also gives you advice on what to purchase!

Leave a Reply

