Not The Weekend To Be In Chicago…

I am going to do my normal Hopes & Plans post tomorrow, so I am able to share the madness that was my weekend. Last week I spent a few days in Chicago for a conference, and everything was set for me to arrive home Friday evening in time for our party on Saturday. Then around 8 am someone asked me how I was getting home with all of the cancelations…whattt.

I’m sure most of you heard that the Chicago airports were shut down on Friday into Saturday because of a fire at the control tower. Well this threw the city into chaos, or at least the people planning on leaving that day. The craziest part of this was that the fire happened around 6am, and Southwest didn’t email me until almost 11am to inform me of a cancelled flight. Luckily, I had already booked a car because we were preparing to drive 12 hours home.

I was already set into a mild panic attack because of the thought of possibly missing my own engagement party, and then my mom called with terrible news about my Grandfathers best friend. This man has been in my life since I was born, he was just like a grandfather to me, and I have countless memories with him. I was heartbroken, nervous and sad that I could not be with my family right away.

We set out to start driving, and ended up back in Baltimore around 2am Saturday morning. Luckily, our party was a blast and I can’t wait to tell you all more about it. We went to visit our friend in the hospital Sunday morning, and I am so happy we did. He passed away during the night, and the next few days are going to be a whirlwind. I am so thankful for the time I have had with him, and I know he will now be able to see my Uncle John again in Heaven.

If you pray, please pray for us during this difficult time, if you believe in sending good vibes, or other things like that, please do that as well.

Signature

4 thoughts on “Not The Weekend To Be In Chicago…

Leave a Reply

